leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

rooftops of bushwick

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-05-24 - 1:16 p.m.

i climbed the stairs of a warehouse in bushwick to find an elaborate soundsystem on the roof. lawn chairs had been taped to the rooftop along with a kiddie pool and astroturf and a game of twister. a humid cool hung in the air around the satellite dishes and housing projects. i arrived with one other guest at about 11p and we were the first to arrive.

i helped a cute skinny boy with a british accent defoam the massive keg of PBR. he put a party hat on my head and i asked him if he wanted to kiss me. he did. i danced my white ass off despite the fact that my foot has barely healed. people kept asking me where i learned to dance and i couldn't for the life of me think of a good answer to that question. s had found the lion costume and danced like a dervish. the male-female ratio at the party was heavily tilted in favor of my demographic and i barely had time to think about wanting a cigarette or beer or slug of whiskey before one was fetched for me.

that skinny boy and i kept running into each other on the massive rooftop, by accident or design. he told me about the music he makes, about living in london and baltimore. we went for a beer run and i offered him a place to stay the night. i had the discarded lion costume draped over my shoulders as we ventured out into afterhours bushwick. it made it much easier to hail a car home.