leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

i kissed andrew andrew

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-04-01 - 10:32 a.m.

tuesday night was the closing party at apt. i was looking forward to it, because patrick pulsinger and umberto gollini had been rocking the parties all weekend and they were headlining downstairs. h told me to arrive at 10p to assist the djs if needed. when i arrived, her other assistant was there but no h and no djs. DJ Casio was shirtless in the booth, and dropping some of the mellowest and best-mixed house i've heard in a long time. h and entourage drifted in at about 11p.

their set was kick-ass, but it felt a little clunky after DJ Casio. pulsinger amazed by mixing in 'here comes the rain again' and somehow tiptoeing over to 'sympathy for the devil' in the middle of a techno set. dj groupies (myself among them) crowded the front of the booth to see the masters in action. but eventually i drifted upstairs.

one of the first things i noticed on the top level was a 'take a number' spool of the sort often seen in busy italian delis. being numerologically inclined, i took a number. i went out to the rainy porch to bum cigarettes from austrians. eventually, a lab-coated young man with hornrimmed glasses came by to ask me which number i held. he noted it on his clipboard, and then explained the party to me.

at the front of the room were: 2 iPods connected to a standard dj mixer, a large digital clock counting down from 7:00, and a 'now serving' readout that had a two-digit number. they were serving number 19 and i held number 20. two identically dressed young men in lab coats and glasses appeared to be manning the decks, but actually they were facilitating a series of guest djs according to the numbers drawn. one of the andrews handed me a xeroxed list of the contents of the iPods so i could plan my set. when the number 20 read overhead, i would have seven minutes to play whatever i wanted. here is my set, which i semi-beatmatched:

'debaser' - the pixies

'angst in my pants' - sparks

'cool places' - jane wiedlin and sparks

i stepped away from the decks with a minute and a half left, figuring dj 21 would let 'cool places' play to nearly the end. but the drunken eurotrash that stepped up to the plates cut the song unceremoniously to interrupt with 'billie jean'. andrew andrew could see i was a bit crestfallen, and they complimented me on my selections. i smooched both of them on the cheek. they blushed in turn.

if i hadn't already put away my share of gin-and-tonics, i totally would have taken another number.

-------------------------------

cb came over last night to buy me a scotch. he'd been putting me off unaccountably for at least a week, i suspect it was because he got cock-blocked by the brazilian at the makeout party. hey, first come, first served! i try to be fair.

he's a total sweetheart. kinda wanted to talk about his most recent heartbreak, which i personally felt was beyond my purview. he's an aspiring actor, which has not been such a thrilling demographic for me, and he tended to the navel-gazing posture in conversation. fortunately, he has a lovely voice and was not too hard to listen to. he's a fantastic kisser and has a soft warm beard.

but i'm conflicted. i guess i just know i could eat him alive. i'm not sure he can handle a girl like me. you must be at least this tall to get on this ride.