leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

air america

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-04-02 - 3:55 p.m.

i think the weather is bringing me down a bit. its been gray for a week in brooklyn. i can't seem to get my bearings, or quite enough sleep, since working for h last week.

my other friend h called me this morning to ask if i wanted to get stereolab tickets with her today. we spent a leisurely afternoon eating omelettes and pierogis at veselka. she just got accepted into a prestigious grad school program and she is trying to decide how to proceed. she will likely need to move from new york for a while which she is really reluctant to do.

one bright spot for me recently is air america. i'm an NPR junkie but sometimes even i get tired of the broad platitudes. terry gross in particular inspires fierce feelings of affection and repulsion in me. air america just launched this week and it sounds like they're still working their thing out. it has a very seat-of-the-pants, grassroots, wired world feeling to the shows. even the ads are mostly for websites. it's refreshing to hear a liberal voice with an actual opinion: rude, obnoxious, and pretty funny at times. the one downside is that its on 1190AM here, and i don't have an AM antenna for my stereo. so i'm listening to randi rhoades' silken brooklyn tones on the digital clock radio.

joanne allen used to report the news for WNYC (local NPR) and now she is reading the news for WLIB (local air america). the more things change, the more they stay the same.