leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

bean there

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-08-04 - 12:51 p.m.

i'm sitting in my best friend's brand new apartment in san francisco and i really couldn't be happier. it's cloudy and cold today, just as a summer day should be. g and her beau have gone to their respective jobs and i'm hogging the entire kitchen table.

last night g and d welcomed me into their home with italian wine and spanish cheese. later we wandered up to the castro for pork noodles. does my whole life revolve around food and things that taste good? it must because i woke up this morning almost able to taste the coffee from my favorite shop, just a block from here.

more than any other city i've ever been to, san francisco has tons of coffee shops with cutesy, punning names. my favorite place is 'bean there'. other hotspots include 'mission grounds', 'higher grounds', 'jumpin java', and 'muddy waters'. additionally, san francisco coffee seems to have a unique perfumed fragrance. i've just come from seattle which has its share of fine coffee (if you can manage to avoid the grimacing maw of the starbucks on every single corner) but not even seattle's beans have that delicious extra something that tickles my nose and makes my mouth water.

i'm obviously ridiculously caffeinated as i write this.