leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

top shelf gin

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-05-13 - 3:41 p.m.

i was interviewed for a radio show this morning, about the upcoming human scale chess game. i was so hung over i was certain that my death from alcohol poisoning was imminent. i tried to use my calm schoolteacher voice, but every thought i tried to express came out tied in knots. swoon did the interview after me, and sounded so polished and professional that i sank even deeper into the couch in shame. you will be able to hear swoon, glowlab founder christina ray, la bon vivant jean hester, and your humble diarist on the radio by tuning to WKCR 89.9 FM on friday at 10p. if you live in the new york metro area, that is.

of course i have noone to blame but myself. but its always the free drinks that do me in. after watching my fellow fotologgers get plastered at grand press, i stopped into the lounge to hear the gallerists' mix of old jazz and blues. she slipped a drink ticket into my cleavage, and when i'd got through that gin and tonic, the owner poured me a glass of his special favorite top shelf gin. i was so woozy after that i lost a game of suicide chess.

what is it about gin that causes such a crushing, punishing hangover? i thought the herbs were supposed to make it easier. my whole body aches. and the demolition is not making it any more pleasant.