leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

streaming

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-04-23 - 11:52 a.m.

my band streamed a live concert to a gallery in berlin last night. it was very odd to play to a group of people i couldn't see or hear. the normal cues and energies of live performance were absent from our environment, yet we still had a powerful feeling of being 'listened to'. m was mixing live video which was also being transmitted to berlin, and from her terminal she would say things like 'they're ready for sound now', or 'she closed the chat, wait a second'.

coffee is making me cranky lately, i think i need to give it up again. i was up until 4a, drinking wine with s, dancing at the pyramid, shooting pool at the mermaid bar. i hung out with rocky, a local celebrity who's lived in the neighborhood his entire life. he owns both the mermaid bar and the subway bar. the mermaids in the center of the mermaid bar have been painted horribly, they look like mangled transsexual prostitutes. i promised rocky i'd restore them to their former glory, using only my imagination and some acrylic paint. but then i realised i have an open studios meeting on sunday, so i will have to reschedule. but those lovely ladies deserve much better.

this morning my mouth still tastes like gin and camel lights. i wonder how i'm going to get anything done today. damn you, coffee. pull me through, liberal talk radio.