leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

music ruined for me by bad breakups

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2007-09-27 - 1:28 p.m.

Led Zeppelin
T definitely spent the first half of his extremely troubled life imitating Robert Plant in every way possible. He was in a L Z cover band. He grew his hair long (and was always using up my conditioner). and he had honed his smoky sexy voice into a near-perfect replica of Mr. Plant's signature scream. Familiarity breeds contempt, however, and I can hardly listen to 'Immigrant Song' or 'Your Time is Gonna Come' without a vestigial twinge of worry that T is overdosing in my bathroom.

Frank Sinatra, especially "My Way"
despite astonishingly nuanced taste in music and injectable narcotics, B loved Frank above all others. B would frequently quip "It's Frank's world, we just live in it", and as far as I know he is the youngest known person in history to repeat that Dino quote. When B inevitably drifted into his own addictions, I ritually cleansed my home of all Frankobilia.

The Grateful Dead
To be fair, I hated the Grateful Dead long before I met G. But his relentless worship of Jerry constantly chapped me, especially since he often gave me rides to work. G had to pull over to the side of the road and grieve the day we heard that Jerry had slipped from this mortal coil.

Gillian Welch
Basically every other memory of the time i spent with K is painful as all get out, and Ms. Welch's voice seems to embody that heartache. K loved her so much he downloaded several albums to my iPod so that i could steep in the heartbreak long before we actually parted company. The song which can still break my heart all over again is her cover of Radiohead's 'Black Star'. Revel in my pain.