leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

fire ritual

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2005-08-17 - 12:09 a.m.

my band is on an informal summer hiatus. in lieu of rehearsal, my bandmate and i have been designing little miniature field trips for one another. tonight we attended a vedic fire ritual held in a yoga studio. i love fire. it's definitely my favorite element. mostly, we chanted awkwardly in sanskrit with six other women, and watched a ghee-and-herb fire burn down in an iron vessel during twenty minutes of silent meditation. i imagined the parts of myself that i wished the fire would disintegrate/purify. my feet fell asleep while sitting cross-legged on the bare wood floor. it made my toes burn and prickle.

later, we sat in a light rain outside the sardinian wine bar, sipping rare and exquisite beverages and nibbling on cured meats. i took the opportunity to bitch about my fellow artists' incomplete appreciation of conceptual art, and railing against the virulence and contagion of certain types of insanity. s politely described the dull experience of bad theater, and her desire to learn dead languages.

also, i went record shopping. because the world as we know it is clearly coming to an end and i think the least i can do is to have the proper soundtrack.


  • cocteau twins - aikea-guinea/kookaburra/quisquose/rococo
  • the B-52's - whammy!
  • kate bush - the kick inside
  • the durutti column - the guitar and other machines
  • ofra haza - fifty gates of wisdom: yemenite songs