leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

since i returned

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2005-03-09 - 6:18 p.m.

i played a very intense show with s in providence. k and j came along for the ride. our hosts in providence were gracious and kind, fellow psychogeographers who live in a decommisioned firehouse. a full moon brought out the drama queen in everyone, though: j and i got in a tiff on the way up, k took off in the middle of our set, and some drunk guy interrupted our third song to ask if we couldn't play something with a beat. 'we really need to get this party started', he offered by way of explanation. s and i broke down our equipment and i went outside to cry in the snow. j took an amazing crying portrait of me, though, which i used for a self portrait.

only days later, i got in a huge drunken fight with someone close to me. i barely remember what i said, but it's been reported to me that i slowly poured my beer in his lap. i also managed to leave my cellphone at the bar as i walked out the door with both my middle fingers extended to him. losing my cellphone is like lsoing the use of my left hand, and for a whole day i was frantic. once my hangover was reasonably cleared, i headed back to the site of the original trauma and my phone was right where i had left it. i ended up chatting with the very nice bartender on duty and we traded band websites and long-story-short i think we're gonna be supporting their band at trash at the end of april.

on sunday, i returned from a very fun field trip to jackson heights (indian food, sari palaces, bollywood disco) to find my loft was the target of an attempted breakin. my door was jacked up and i could not get in. my upstairs neighbor helped me break in to my own place. i later learned that the thieves had some of the keys to the building, and if i hadn't lost my keys and changed the locks this spring they likely would have looted my loft.