leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

weirdly disconnected

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-11-10 - 11:38 a.m.

flew in last night after 5 days with my parents in rural washington state and i'm feeling a bit adrift in brooklyn. my job, which i was really enjoying, evaporated completely when the lawyer j and i were working for had a heartattack. i knew i could count on the journalist for some company last night, but when i ran into him he was drunk and a little belligerent and he just made me more anxious somehow. even the gallerist cloaked me in vague promises and weak excuses. thank goodness i have band practice tonight.

spending time with my parents was good but weird. they are such good and loving people, but there's this defensive anger on the outside too. they're very conservative and had nothing good to say about iraqi insurgents, gay people who want to marry, or women who want the choice to seek an abortion. i went to church with them on sunday (for the first time in about 10 years) and was thoroughly confused by the sermon, which seemed like lots of open-ended metaphors sprinkled with broken pointless illustrations. the singing was nice, though, and its always a good time to see middle-aged white people trying to summon the holy spirit by waving their hands in the air like they're flagging down a celestial bus.

it was fun to see trees and deers and nature. it was great to not read the paper or listen to the radio for a short interval. but now i'm as irritated as a patch of eczema. i probably just need to get to my studio.