leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

vinyl junkie

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-10-31 - 4:26 p.m.

largely as a result of m fixing my stereo (m, you are totally my hero forever!), i'm having a personal vinyl renaissance. we went digging through the dollar crates at the vinyl academy and i went onto the scrap metal yard for additional platters. nothing over $5!

only a lad / violent love, oingo boingo
'only a lad' won the air guitar contest at my high school.

skin trade duran duran
i had pins with john taylor's face on them all over my jean jacket in junior high school.

dissidents thomas dolby
best use of a manual typewriter in a pop song.

dancing with myself / untouchables gen x
i find billy idol strangely hot.

the power snap
no hip hop set from the eighties can be without this record.

i love a man in a uniform gang of four
i can't play this song without the temptation to perform the dance routine from my modern dance class in high school.

election day arcadia
seemed too timely to pass up. plus, this song is weirdly dirty!

the begatting of the president orson welles (spoken word)
his voice is so seductive, even defeating the cheesy stock background music.

o superman / walk the dog laurie anderson
here come the planes, they're american planes!

vienna ultravox
the poor man's kraftwerk. i played my ultravox cassette until it literally fell apart.

let my children hear music charles mingus
the shoes of the fisherman's wife are some jive ass slippers.

gotcha!OST
purchased solely for the nik kershaw track 'wouldn't it be good'

how much, how much i love you love and kisses
this british disco record has unbelievable cover art, a blonde dressed only in riding boots atop a white horse, in soft focus late afternoon sunlight.

quiet nights miles davis
gil evans and a heavy brazilian influence

a shout out to f also, for teaching me how (and why) to buy records in the first place. i owe ya one!