leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

assumptions

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-08-25 - 12:16 a.m.

i'm only in the very beginning stages of 'take a republican to lunch' and already i've encountered several assumptions about me among my republican respondents (who are all male).

  1. i do not have much money.
  2. i cannot afford to pay for lunch.
  3. i am a member of the working class.
  4. i am a member of the democratic party.
  5. i can be turned away from my liberal views in an afternoon.
  6. i am something of a golddigger.

regular readers know of course that none of the above statements are true. nor were the respondents given any ground for these assumptions.

conversely, in describing this project to my friends, i've encountered the following assumptions about my respondents:

  1. they are all over 40 years of age.
  2. they are inherently stupid.
  3. they are white-collar fat cats.
  4. they are homophobic racists.

i've found none of the above to be true. to be fair, i originally made that first assumption myself. but a surprising number of earnest young republicans have also made themselves known to me.

already i'm starting to get a clearer picture of what divides us as a nation. can't we all just get along?