leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

plus ca change

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-08-19 - 11:54 a.m.

hmm. back in brooklyn and what does it feel like? more of the same, but different. pure joy to be back in my studio, painting furiously. a thick kind of ecstasy to write new songs with my musical partner. the same delicious porto rico iced coffee and egg sandwiches from the corner taste greasier and better than usual. the familiar detritus on my dead end street seems comforting and strangely pretty.

when in the midst of a california reverie, i tried to remember what i missed about new york. what could prevent me from picking up and rerelocating to the west coast? i instantly got a mental picture of painting in my studio with rain tapdancing on the skylight. and then i got a sense memory of finishing a bottle of alsatian wine while singing in the opsound studio with s. and then later, i saw a lot of really mediocre and bad art in san francisco. so i was ready on some level to rekindle my affection with kings county.

i miss being fogbound with my best friend. i miss afternoons of lazy reading and unhurried browsing. o god and i miss the sushi and the produce. but i think i'm becoming a new yorker. or at least a brooklynite.

in other news, c showed himself last night after several frustratingly absent weeks. each bit of him is more delicious than the last, but he remains emotionally aloof. i suspect i am beginning to crave something more. i could feel that something in me has changed. regular readers will note i've been rather cavalier with my affections in the last few months. and being entwined in c's limbs was just as fun as it always has been, if not more so. but percolating in the background, a vague memory, something more than just sex? is it possible?