leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

beach party?

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-06-05 - 11:05 a.m.

the girls from queens rolled up to my house late last evening to bust me out of my self-imposed exile. i've been a cranky, uptight bitch all week and was glad for the distraction. m had an invitation to a 'beach party' in a loft on canal. i put on some sandals and a shiny skirt for the occasion. i cadged cigarettes from m while we looked for a parking place in soho.

upon entry we were adorned with plastic leis and asked to remove our shoes. m made the obligatory joke about everyone getting lei'ed/laid. english was almost the minority language at the party, which was alternately interesting and frustrating. a drunken swede tripped over m and splashed everyone in a wide radius with jack and coke. between sips of whiskey, t and i agreed that the party was both square and insufficiently themed. we played fashion police and praised and trashed various people's outfits from the safety of a large leather couch.

i chatted with a german real estate agent and a spanish mathematician, but my interest was still not being held. unfortunately, the whiskey had not entirely melted my crankiness. m and i agreed to go get some pizza, t and her fag stayed behind, which was probably a good thing, since she was all about getting hammered. m and i collected a couple of slices and headed back to my loft to listen to the stereo. she reclined on my couch and was snoring in minutes.