leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

redux

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-05-05 - 12:42 a.m.

i am still so very awake. damn you coffee. damn you straight to hell.

i decided today was backwards day in my life, because all of today's tasks involved re-doing or reexamining things from the recent past. today's redos included:

  • marking up pages i'd marked up six months ago and reposting them elsewhere (they look better now).
  • repainting a painting from two years ago. i didn't improve it much, but it sure as hell looks better than it did.
  • talking to my grandma about people who have been dead for a while. we've had almost precisely the same conversation before. in fact, i suspect we have it about every six or nine months. her mind is a bit fuzzy and i don't mind the repetition at all.
  • tossing old and unsent letters in the east river (i did this six months ago).
  • talking to the gander on my cellphone, i in my studio and she on the way to an airport. we've had three such conversations in the last month.
  • upon finding myself on the bowery, i treated myself to my favorite meal in the east village, same as i did last tuesday.
  • taking a call from d, who i went on a date with. he didn't remember who i was. he was very drunk. he was much more embarrassed about those last two facts than i am. people: do not drink and dial.
  • renting movies i'd already seen. 'three kings' is extra chilling in light of recent events.