leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

open studios

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-05-03 - 11:37 a.m.

it was a good weekend of open studios and white wines. it was more pleasant than i expected to have friends and strangers come through my studio to look at my paintings. especially thrilling were the visits of three different people i've painted portraits of; none of whom had seen the portraits until this weekend. extra exciting since one of them was c, who hung out with m and c and i for quite a while. he got viridian all over himself. he took me out for a gin and tonic after i closed up the studio for the day. he let me listen to his ipod.

i didn't know until early last week that i would even be on the open studios roster. i'd contacted the committee in february about participating, but totally dropped the ball when i got distracted by makeout parties and trips to the west coast. they put me on the map anyway. and i happen to have a body of work right now that i feel really confident about.

but in the meantime, i had a huge fight with my dad. my parents are getting ready to move and they were having a garage sale. my dad told me he sold a huge painting i'd made for their dining room. he sold it for $50. i was angry and humiliated. he really didn't understand why i was mad. as i got ready to open my studios, that feeling of disregard dragged me down. s took me out for coffee and a good cry on friday afternoon, which really seemed to help.