leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

doing things i wouldn't normally do

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-04-04 - 7:58 p.m.

i will have to admit here that i needed the better part of saturday afternoon to recover from friday night's ashtray of a recording party. and most of sunday to recover from the the gymnastics of saturday night. i don't have a monday to donate to tonight's cause; so pray for me, dear reader, pray for me.

late saturday i caught up with s and the german curator in the chelsea. i caught the tail -end of their sprint through the art palaces and still managed to see a lot of cool stuff. seems like every other thing we saw was on, made of, or about paper. draughtsman (and paper mills) of the world, rejoice. the german curator is perfectly nice but she speaks so softly and so obliquely that i find her difficult to take in large doses. i felt much better once we repaired to the free103point9 opening at printed matter and wrapped my hungover mitts around a cold brooklyn lager. s did her art star thing and hooked up the transmission arts people with the curator. a collaboration was proposed, and i got a CD made from sounds of the williamsburg bridge.

cabs were hailed and a decision was made to eat in brooklyn. chilled white bordeaux further improved my mood. over a dripping burger at dumont, the curator invited weapons of mass destruction to stream a concert to the gallery next month.

i was still feeling ansty after helping the curator onto the subway (it was only about 9p) so i called around to see if anyone wanted to grab a beer with me. i couldn't get anyone on the phone, so i rented a movie and picked up a sunday times. no sooner did i get in my front door than my phone rang. it was c. whom i have not seen in a month.

'i'm so sorry. i had to go to europe for work.'

'okay.'

'what are you doing tonight? you probably have plans.'

'well, actually, i just got home.'

'look i'm really sorry i couldn't see you sooner. nothing i could do about it.'

'come over here and buy me a whiskey and i'll forget all about it.'

about an hour later he snuck in my front door and pressed me against the wall. i was prepared to be peeved at him, but to be honest, my objections melted under the heat of his kiss. i made him lead me to the lounge, where we listened briefly to some brazilian music and he tried to impress me with tales of his (pretty impressive) job.

everything is better in candlelight and c is no exception. i really couldn't take my hands off him. i don't think he did take his hands off me. maybe its because he's so much younger than me, but i really don't know anyone else who has the same level of horizontal enthusiasm that i do. plus the sound of his voice, the smell of his skin. we smoked a little pot and lay together in the dark, breathing in unison. i felt my heart chakra burst open with a clarity and intensity not felt since i first met f.

c kept me up until the break of dawn and i didn't mind one bit.