leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

boys don't cry

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-04-03 - 1:57 p.m.

d and i agreed to meet at enid's, which suits me as i haven't been there in quite some time. the DJs there always make me smile, and last night was no exception: the theme to 'the muppet show' prompted discussions of sid and marty kroft's extensive and psychedelic oeuvre. even a disjointed 'man in the mirror' sidled up to a cyndi lauper single. even the rainy streets seemed to glisten. or maybe it was the five gin-and-tonics i drank in rapid succession.

d has a full-fledged recording studio in an unassuming basement only a block from enid's, and he invited me to come downstairs and lay down a few tracks. it's an offer i couldn't possibly refuse. takeout chinese and six-packs were procured. from a thick cloud of pot- and cigarette smoke, we managed to extract a really creepy-sounding cover of 'gimme shelter'. d played for me a short progression with drums he'd recorded earlier, and i made up a vocal line for it right on the spot. he coaxed me into crooning my favorite oldie 'hey baby', recording and effecting my voice so that i sounded like debbie harry with a heroin problem. i'm completely willing to admit that i am a mediocre guitarist. and a vocal exhibitionist. d fawned over my skills and stroked my ego so completely i felt like a supermegastar.

d had many stories to share about quitting his job, living in cairo, avoiding the bed of a swedish painter; but the late hour and the crush of cigarettes on my precious cilia made me long for my own bed. i crept out of the basement and loaded up 'boys don't cry' on my ipod. i let the parade of bedford avenue in the rain become my music video.