leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

thank you, by the way

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-03-22 - 4:01 p.m.

on friday afternoon, drunk on free champagne with my new favorite friend b, from high atop an elegant loft in the chelsea, i raised a glass to the stunning sunset and thought to myself: is this really my life? because if it wasn't actually happening to me, i wouldn't believe it.

i don't know how we got invited to the veuve-cliquot demi-sec tasting and neither does b. but there we were, rubbing elbows with wine writers and executive chefs, nibbling on amuse-bouche desserts and wading in champagne.

i had that thought again as i walked hand in hand with the brazilian all afternoon yesterday; strolling near the river, browsing the artists' flea markets in the neighborhood, chatting about ballet and classic cars and bad breakups. his deep resonant voice lulled me into a quiet contentedness. by the end of the afternoon every wink and smile seemed unbearably attractive.

i'm having that feeling once again as i freeze slightly in a filthy loft in dumbo. my parttime job ressurected itself and morphed into party production coordinator, a role i was born to play. i'm sipping tea and emailing volunteers and shlepping flyers. and then f calls me and asks if i want to get ridiculously and unreasonably drunk this evening.