leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

southside romance

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-02-27 - 8:32 a.m.

i met someone last night. he slid into the local bar like bad weather.

i was sitting at the end of the bar sipping scotch. i don't think he saw me right off. but once he did, he told me i looked stunning.

so we talk. he has a deep, lovely speaking voice. a little taste of southern accent right around the edges. and in other ways, so not what i'm shopping for: not very tall, too young, oddly dressed. but he smells divine. he buys me a drink. we slide into the corner booth.

asking me about little things, i am wading in the sound of his voice. he holds my hand. everything he says makes him a little more attractive to me. he loves cats. he writes songs. he is nervous. he can't take his eyes off me. of course i enjoy the attention. something about his touch is electric. he asks if he can kiss me, i sense i am being tested somehow. when he kisses me, i feel it down to my knees. i am suddenly overwhelmed with the desire to kiss him for the next several consecutive hours.

we leave the bar. an icy wind is punishing broadway. we share cigarettes, make plans. i can't stop touching him. out in the lamplight my assessment is no better: he is not what i thought i wanted. but now i can't think of anything else i ever wanted more.