leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

o, verizon

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2004-02-17 - 8:05 a.m.

i have been in a horrible fight with verizon ever since i moved in early january. i wanted to move my DSL service to my new loft and every time i talked to verizon about it, they told me there was nothing they could do, or that it would take weeks and weeks to set up. i got so upset on the phone with someone named amber on friday that i hung up on her (which is so unlike me). actually, i hung up on her twice.

but yesterday morning, the phone rang at about 8am and an automated voice told me my DSL was available. sure enough, the modem displayed ready lights. i called tech support, talked to a very nice texan named john, and in a matter of moments i was surfing the vast internet from my very own desk. i surfed and surfed all day long until it was finally time to go to chess club. and when i got home, i surfed some more.

the last time i'd talked to amber at verizon, she claimed that the service couldn't be implemented until february 24. so i was pleasantly surprised to get access yesterday. i'm hoping that's going to be true of all the other blocked energy in my life right now: that it looks bleak at the moment, but that i will be pleasantly surprised by a favorable resolution.

i will miss flirting with the cute redheaded barrista at the wi-fi coffee bar. but since my wallet got stolen last week i really don't have the cash for his creamy breves anyway.