leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

new studio

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-07-18 - 11:04 a.m.

humid and antsy in new york city. maybe too much coffee. i may need to put down the caffeine habit for a while. life is exciting enough.

changing locations of my studio is both exhilirating and nerve-wracking. i can't quite figure out why its so nerve-wracking, but it certainly is. i've come to loathe the old place, so much so that i don't even want to clean it out. the new place is smaller, quieter, cleaner. there is a part of me waiting for the new place to turn bad. i often have a hard time enjoying things even when i get what i want.

the good side of all this rumination is that i'm really ready to start painting again. i've been having all kinds of new ideas. just hauling my older work out of the dark basement space was kind of inspirational. i like alot of those paintings, especially the more personal work with freeway overpasses, dark swimming pools, and family members.