leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

sell it?

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-06-07 - 11:20 p.m.

have you ever had a potential before you that would make your life som much easier you don't dare even hope for it to come through? or a relationship in its infancy that could make your life so much easier that you don't really know how much enthusiasm to show?

today i went to look at a new studio for painting. i've been wanting to divest myself of my small paintmaking business in its current incarnation, and i will be needing a new place to work on the things that matter to me. one not in my and f's living space. the space is great (a window and a skylight, plus studio mates, walking distance from my house) and cheap (half of what i am now paying). i got along great with t, the woman renting the studio. i brought her a tube of my handmade paint and she went apeshit, though politely. i spent a few pleasant hours drinking coffee with her and her flatmate, telling them about my business, which she seemed to want to buy from me.

this would be the best possible out come for me for a number of reasons:

  1. my current loyal customers will continue to get quality paint.

  2. i will be able to sell not only my equipment and back stock, but will get some remuneration for my mailing list, formulas, website, and other less tangible aspects of the business.

  3. the business won't just die, but will continue to change and grow.

  4. i will likely still have access to cheap quality paint, but without the hassle of having to actually run the business myself.

keep your fingers crossed for me, o faithful reader! even if it doesn't come through, i'm kind of excited, because i didn't dare hope anyone would be interested in buying the business from me.