leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

friends and friends

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-04-25 - 8:07 a.m.

i tend to be a little obsessive about things. i broke my television earlier this year and f convinced me not to get a new one. i think he was tired of my compulsion to watch every single rerun of 'friends'. yes, it's embarassing to admit, even to you, dear diary, but i am a television addict. and that addiction normally manifests itself around mediocre sitcoms. before 'friends' it was 'cheers'. my brother is a TV addict, too, and he has cable. so we have an informal date every thursday to watch 'ER' together. i try to get there early so i can watch 'friends' too. i think once a week and across town is all the tv i can safely manage.

my last big painting project was scenes from the movie 'blue velvet'. now i'm beginning a project painting scenes from 'friends'. i took my digicam to my brother's house last night and snapped shots of his beautiful flat screen.

part of the addiction to 'friends' is that a part of me actually believes they are my friends. i know those people. a friend in sf refers to the show as 'my friends'. when i broke the tv, i felt it was an opportunity for me to find some real friends. i don't know if i've made a lot of new friends since, but i've definitely been able to work on more music. for once i actually read all the magazines i obsessively subscribe to before the next issue arrives. and i have more time to play chess on the internet.