leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

disintegration loops

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-03-13 - 10:16 a.m.

yesterday the weather was so pleasant. everyone was out running their dogs and meeting and greeting. after so many below-freezing days, 45 degrees F seemed downright balmy. of course, its supposed to snow later today.

both c and z came by my studio to hang out and chat. everyone is worried about money.

F let me know about a performance that william basinski was giving last night at sideshow. he had to go to class, but la and i attended. the music was so dreamy and ethereal. there was so much space in the music that at first i found it hard to pay attention. it worked on me like a yoga class, i had to work to keep my anxious monkeymind in the room. but once i quieted my internal drama, the music washed over me, leaving me with the pleasant feeling of having been on a long swim.

i have been reading alot about the use of loops in music and i've been thinking about how to incorporate this technique in my own work. mr. basinski was using a setup last night that included actual loops of mag tape playing on ancient reel-to-reels.using a modern digital mixer, he mixed in sounds from his laptop with the nonsynchronous loops. he played for more than an hour.

afterwards we eschewed our normal musical collaborations, opting instead for a repast at the local sardinian winebar. delicate coldcuts and complex red and sparkling wines were slowly consumed over la's amusing tales of the online dating scene.

walking home in moonlight as warm as bathwater, i noticed that my anxieties were fading into the background.