leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

jazz jam

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-03-04 - 11:49 a.m.

i've been so flaking on my blog and i feel actually guilty about it. but then again, i'll feel guilty about anything so its not that surprising.

i've been spending lots of time on music lately. after the show with c's band last wednesday, i went to a jazz open jam on thursday. it was the polar opposite of my experiences on wednesday. only the guitar and the stand-up bass were gently amplified, the room was intimate, everyone was nice and really into cooperating. it was mellow and ego-free. and everyone was really really talented. i was almost shy about playing but i was encouraged to give it a try. since i only know one standard, i got the band to play 'summertime' with me.

i stayed until half-past midnight, at which point i couldn't keep my eyes open any more. the music was so amazing it washed over me like an opiate. singers drifted on and off the stage, each more amazing than the last. they only do the jam once a month, i've been wishing it was every week.

one thing i noticed was that all the singers were female and all the instrumentalists were male. when i got up to play, the band asked if i was going to sing as well. i love singing, but i don't think i could have sung and played the jazzy bits at the same time. anyway, it led me to wonder if there is a gender line on the jazz stage. if so, i'm excited to blur that line! more research into this phenomenon is needed.