leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

advil morning

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-02-27 - 10:22 a.m.

so tired and sore today. i went to the gym and weightlifted two days in a row. i really pushed myself yesterday, perhaps not the wisest decision in light of the fact that my first gig with celena's band was last night. my biceps are just aching today.

i don't know how i feel about the gig. i don't think celena was happy with the show but i'm not the perfectionist she is. we were playing to a bunch of sloppy drunk people at stinger who had just sat through a whole set of poetry played on a loop station. so i think we sounded pretty together iin comparison. especially after only like 4 rehearsals. on my way out, she said 'we'll have a critique later' when what i wanted to hear was 'thanks for showing up and rocking like a hurricane'. but whatever. she and everyone else was sauced to the gills. i had a buzz on but la was stupid with it. she's a very cute drunk. i made a big show of walking her to the cab station for her own safety.

before the show, i played with la. our collaboration is very fruitful for me. i had written a song and we spent a lot of our practice time working on my song. its a lot more solid now. i'm going to try to learn some of the editing functions on my 4-track today and maybe mix it together a little more.

the biz is going well but my pre-mixer has stopped working. after only one session of mixing paste. no matter what, its going to be a hassle to get it fixed. which i am hardly looking forward to. the titanium white paste got almost thoroughly mixed before it quit, so phoebe and i are going to try to grind it out tomorrow. i'm desperate for white. i need white if i'm going to sell any other colors.