leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

slushpile

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-02-19 - 5:54 p.m.

new york is a gigantic slushpile today. ew.

i think i exercised my back a little too much at the gym this morning. which caused me to slouch all day (like i don't do that already). so just now when i arched my back for the first time in hours, i almost felt like i pulled a muscle.

the gym thing continues to be pretty wonderful. in combination with the low-carbs diet and daily yoga, i've now lost 10lbs since xmas. so many folks are commenting on how skinny i look. its a massive ego boost. i totally know that its my attitude that's the most different.

went to the studio for a while and phoebe gave me a tongue-lashing for not helping out more with the show in new london. i think the problem is that she thinks she was doing me a favor by putting me in the show, and i thought i was doing her a favor by putting my paintings in the show. anyway, i told her i'd go up early saturday and help her finish hanging and that seemed to calm her down. seriously? new london? noone i know is going to be able to come and see the show. i honestly didn't even put it out to my mailing list.

band practice tonight and two (two!) performance opportunities next week. i've been writing songs with the aid of my new four-track. its such a magical machine, its even made my former dust-collector mc-303 worth playing with. i've been making these weird little laurie-anderson-style songs where i compose some electronic backing tracks and then read a poem over them. i'm pretty proud of them considering its my first real effort.

shopping for a new guitar teacher now. do i want to shlep to queens or bay ridge?