leave me a note!

mail me

photo blog

human-scale chess project

poetry project

my paintings

T A N G E R I N E A L E R T

a description of snow

johnnie utah

newest
archive
diaryland

< - >

SOTU drinking game, 2008 - 2008-01-27
little light - 2007-12-19
hamburger phone - 2007-12-18
why 'grease' is a perfect LA movie - 2007-12-17
recipe: barley treasure - 2007-10-12

2003-02-07 - 1:05 a.m.

snowing lightly as i write this. i can't believe how beautiful snow is. i can't believe i never experienced a real snowy winter until age 30.

last night went to hear p play at a swanky lounge in the west village. pretty decent djing (though honestly not as good as my boyfriend). luscious wines were served. everyone was smoking and coughing and laughing. c's gallerists were there, outrageously flaming and funny. i can see on the one hand why she wanted to introduce them to sean, and i can also see why he didn't cotton to them.

guitar lessons are going really really well. i'm thinking of quitting lessons with my teacher here in the neighborhood and taking some jazzier instruction. i really like the instructor at the Y and i know he gives one-on-ones. i'll wait until the class is over to decide. tonight i learned some of 'summertime' and it was easier to pick up than i thought. all that obsessive practising of 'sundown' must have been worthwhile.

i'm super freaked out by what a passive aggressive freak i was posting my relationship woes to this site. it made me kind of jumpy to have them hanging out there in the wind. i've deleted some earlier, angrier entries. i hope you don't mind. but i was in a bad place and really didn't need to unload my ugly internal baggage to the entire internet. rereading them, i can see how hurt and defensive i was. anyway, this was a fantastic outlet, and if you read earlier entries, thanks for indulging my bullshit.

snow is sifting onto everything dirty in my dirty post industrial wasteland and making it as white as a dream.